A Mushroom and a Millennium

Yesterday I finished my proposal for this month’s design challenge over at Game Career Guide.
Here’s a reminder: Parasol Mushroom

When I first saw this challenge, I had absolutely no idea what I was going to do. They had done a photo challenge before, but I didn’t participate. However, after I stared at the photo for a couple of minutes, a crazy idea suddenly sprang into my head. I’m not going to detail it here quite yet. The results of the challenge will be posted in about two and a half weeks, so I’ll reveal my submission then, regardless of whether or not GCG liked it.

I actually gave myself two days to finish this, but did manage to get behind by one day. It was okay, really, because I still finished up my DAY 1 tasks for my new project yesterday. Besides, I’m looking at these schedules as more of a guideline. The important thing is that I actually get these projects finished.

Next, I’m moving on to the 1000 Year Game Design Challenge.
Here’s that link again: 1000 Year Game

I’m giving myself six days for this project, the first of which I actually finished yesterday. Technically, the contest doesn’t end until July 31st, but I don’t want to drag this out that long.
Here’s what my schedule looks like:

DAY 1: Brainstorming. Concept rules and gameplay sketches
DAY 2: Rules – rough draft, temporary mockup of game board and playing pieces
DAY 3: Solo playtesting, session notes, refinement of rules and mechanics as needed
DAY 4: Build game board and playing pieces for prototype (day 2 was just a quick mockup for playtesting purposes, this will be closer to final)
DAY 5: Full playtest and final rule set
DAY 6: Final adjustments to game, write script for video presentation, record video presentation, submit entry

Today is DAY 2 of this project, so a little later I’ll be writing up a rulesheet and trying to figure out what I can use to test the game.

I’ll check back in a couple of days with an update.

Leave a Reply

